SLUT

Slut

There is a problem with the word slut.

I have a problem with it.

A lot of people think that it’s a derogatory word, implying a girl who gives her body out to any and every guy.

Guys use this word freely. 

May I confess something?

I’m not surprised that they would. 

Slut, coming from a guy in my direction does not touch me.

It’s almost like I don’t expect much better from men. Particularly many of the Indian men I have come across. (Sorry, I guess.. No.. I’m not. You should be though.)

Girls also use this word freely.

If another girl smiles at your boyfriend, if a girl is allowing a guy to buy her a drink at a club, if a girl is rumoured to have slept with 10 different guys. She is such a slut

That pisses me of so much that sometimes I want throw a book at you women and scream “Evolve Already. Geez”

I will explain why I feel this way.

There’s more to the word slut, than just a sort of moral judgment on a woman’s sexuality.

At least, that’s what I feel.

I’m not borrowing from any theory, or any writer. I have never read Beauvoir or Sartre or any of these thinkers. I haven’t read any serious articles on gender issues, just the occasional one or two.

People who always see me online must know that I’m usually on sites like 9gag or watching Game of Thrones or some other TV show and not increasing my intellect with serious reading. League of Legends used to take up an obscene amount fo my time too.

 But I’m also pretty sure that this idea that popped into my head today while I was browsing 9gag (unrelated) and generally musing, is not entirely a new one or solely mine alone.

If you browse through enough literature or articles I’m sure you’ll find the idea that popped into my head written by someone else or even a whole bunch of people.

Here’s my thought on the term “slut”

When you call me a slut, you’re telling me that I cannot freely share my body with whomever I want. You’re denying me the freedom that seems to give men their “stud” status.

 It’s more than that though.

You’re telling me that my vaginas activities is more important than the education that I have had.

You’re saying that to you, my knowledge, amassed from years of reading books, listening to music, appreciating art, attending festivals, talking to people, listening to people, my experiences at work, through travel and playing with a series of animals including birds, cats, dogs and turtles have no value whatsoever.

Turtles man! Do you know what that’s like?! its deep shit that goes on between a girl and her pet turtle, or her cousins pet turtle

Ignorant idiots.

You’re, in short, telling me that my entire self-worth is narrowed down to the fact that I enjoy sex without marriage, and even without the structure of a “relationship”.

For people who read this and start trolling me, by sex I mean consensual sex with an adult. Just to be clear. (Douchey trollers) 

But then, as people will often tell you, virginity is important. Purity is prized.

Simple question.

Why?

Why is my virginity important, but his isn’t?

 No, the answer “because you are a girl” is not acceptable.

I read a while back that, apparently, there had been a proposal that girls would have to take virginity tests to gain admission into high schools in a certain Asian country (Indonesia) (That’s just all kinds of crazy going on there considering that many women are born without a hymen and girls can lose their hymen in activities like bicycle riding, gymnastics, dance and a bunch of other activities before they are even sexually active) 

Still waiting for an answer to that question btw. 

 

The idea of controlling a girl’s sexuality simply means that she has no other value beyond her vagina. Her education, her talents, her abilities and experiences, none of it matters because once you are labelled a slut, by anyone, you become a pariah.

I get angry with women because though they complain about how mencan be difficult and controlling and what not, they still judge and try to exert control over another woman’s sexuality.

You don’t seem to realize it, but you also agree that the woman’s value, your value, can and should be judged by nothing more than that of her vaginas activity. When a woman calls another woman a slut, she’s is placing her value, and that of all women on their vaginas activities. 

For more dense women who want to argue, let me put it simply, YOU HAVE JOINED THE ENEMY.

Our( Women’s) Common Enemy

The enemy here, being Patriarchy (ha! Bet you thought, I’d say men!) 

I don’t expect many men to understand anything I’m saying.

In fact I expect some men will read this as “tight- assed fat ugly dyke calling herself a feminist” and some member of a men’s rights group will talk to me about how it is “my duty to serve man as I was created from his rib to cater to his needs and his needs only”

 

Let me stop you right there by saying that your thoughts are archaic and ridiculous. I won’t argue with you or bother debating with you simply because of the fact that I am right and you are wrong. (I see why people, particularly parents and other grown ups like using this line argument! I don’t have to make any explanations! Woot Woot!)

Understand that there are no hard feelings involved in this. It is just a fact. 

Savour the feeling, think of what I’m saying and have a pleasant day.

Ciao                     

                                                            -J

This entry was published on July 7, 2014 at 4:03 pm and is filed under #wroteit. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

